Staycationing

I have finally reentered the world as the proud tenant of my very own apartment! An apartment in my name. An apartment paid for in full via my own hard earned salary. I still have a room full of boxes to sort through and I am probably going to be broke until at least March, but I am on cloud nine about having a place to call home again.

To add to the excitement, I am also currently enjoying one of the perks of working in a school: Winter Break. Two and a half weeks of paid lazy bliss. I’m not even traveling or taking a proper vacation this year, but I’m thrilled. It’s a staycation!

I sincerely enjoy myΒ  job more than any other I’ve ever had in the kingdom and I’m grateful to have it. I mean, I get to work in a place where free hugs from tiny humans are a regular part of the day. How could anyone hate it? Having said that, five days of vacation have helped me to remember a few things I love more than working and wish I could get paid to do instead. Here’s a list!

1. Sleep. Beautiful, uninterrupted, take a two hour nap in the afternoon because you feel like it, don’t have to be anywhere sleep. It’s one of my favorite parts of being alive, I swear.

2. Breakfast. In particular, breakfast in bed. It’s my favorite meal of the day. I usually do make time for a proper breakfast on the weekend, but on a typical work day breakfast consists of a hastily shoveled bowl of cereal at home followed by a cup of tea at work. But vacation breakfast is all out.

3. Cooking. I cook regularly during the workweek anyway, but I’m usually exhausted while doing so. So now I have energy to cook more than one meal each day, and I get to try new recipes and bake bread and make desserts. Vacation is basically about getting fatter as quickly as possible.

4. Time. I have so much of it! There’s extra time for my girl, for friends, for charity, and for getting stuff done. Except for unpacking. I’ve gotten zero unpacking done.

On top of all of that, vacation means that I don’t have to wear pants. I don’t have to wash my hair. I don’t have a bedtime. I have time to go to Ikea. I don’t have to deal with taxis and traffic jams and the general public. I’m loving it.

Happy holidays, ya’ll.

5 thoughts on “Staycationing

Tell me what you think!

